MG.jpg

© Peugeot

I Despite his ‘flaw’, Mario Galla is a highly successful model in a world tailored to perfection. Mario Galla turns his weaknesses into strengths. He turns every cliche he encounters into class. He removes the boundaries between physical disability and integrity, thereby defining new standards for himself and millions of other people around the world.

 

At Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin in 2011, Mario Galla showed an international specialist audience that his orthosis need not be an obstacle on the catwalks of the fashion world, but can be an incentive. Mario Galla set a new trend, becoming an automatic role model for all subsequent generations. From then on, Mario Galla described his supposed flaw as the new, accepted normal. Mario Galla was therefore well ahead of the times, long before the fashion industry declared anything that deviates from the norm to be a new, ultimate stylistic device.

 

Mario Galla is approachable, open and self-deprecating. His natural, anxiety-free and normal way of dealing with his disability, as it is described by parts of society, stops him and others from being stigmatised. He demonstrates the endless opportunities in an increasingly open-minded world and intelligently holds up a mirror to the fashion industry.

 

Mario Galla is aware of his special responsibility and is happy to share his experience. He uses it wisely. In 2011, Mario Galla wrote a bestseller about his journey to and along the catwalk. To mark the year of “Selbstbestimmt. Immer dabei” (2013), Mario Galla became the face of the German government’s antidiscrimination campaign and volunteered his services to the animal welfare organisation, “PETA”. Mario Galla is married and lives in Hamburg. I

MG_Parallax_02_3120x1760.jpg
Mario Galla_15 Years of Walking - from High Fashion to Hiking (with a Prosthetic Leg)

Mario Galla_15 Years of Walking - from High Fashion to Hiking (with a Prosthetic Leg)

Watch Now

© Peugeot

I Mario Galla bewegt sich als Model trotz Makel höchst erfolgreich in einer auf Perfektion zugeschnittenen Welt. Mario Galla entwickelt aus seiner Schwäche die Stärke. Er dreht jedes ihm entgegenspringende Klischee in Klasse. Er löst die Grenzen zwischen körperlicher Behinderung und Unversehrtheit auf und definiert damit für sich und Millionen andere Menschen auf der Welt neue Standards.

Mario Galla beweist 2011 auf der Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin vor internationalem Fachpublikum, dass seine Orthese auf den Laufstegen der Modewelt kein Stolperstein sein muss, sondern ein Antrieb sein kann. So geht Mario Galla neue Wege und ist automatisch Vorbild für alle ihm nachfolgenden Generationen. Seinen vermeintlichen Makel erklärt Mario Galla fortan zur neuen und akzeptierten Normalität. Damit ist Mario Galla, lange bevor die Modebranche alles von der Norm Abweichende zum neuen, ultimativen Stilmittel erklärt, dem Zeitgeist voraus.

Mario Galla ist nahbar, offen und selbstironisch. Er befreit durch seinen selbstverständlichen, angstfreien und normalen Umgang mit seiner von Teilen der Gesellschaft so bezeichneten Behinderung sich und andere Menschen von der Stigmatisierung.Er beweist die Unendlichkeit der Möglichkeiten in einer immer aufgeschlosseneren Welt und hält der Modebranche intelligent den Spiegel vor.

Mario Galla ist sich seiner besonderen Verantwortung bewusst und gibt seine Erfahrungen gerne weiter. Er setzt sie klug ein. Mario Galla schreibt 2011 einen Bestseller über seinen Weg auf und über den Laufsteg. Im Themenjahr „Selbstbestimmt. Immer dabei“ (2013) wird Mario Galla das Gesicht einer Antidiskriminierungskampagne der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und engagiert sich unentgeltlich für die Tierschutzorganisation „PETA“. Mario Galla ist verheiratet und lebt in Hamburg. I

MG_Parallax_02_3120x1760.jpg